18 Apr 2009

Fake Halifax site

Scammers are at again. Recently received an email claimed to be from Halifax.

The text went like this:

From: "secure@halifax.co.uk"
Date: Thu, 16 Apr 2009 01:08:34 -0400
Subject: An unauthorized account activity.
Dear Halifax Member,

An unauthorized account activity claim was recently filed against the following transaction:

Transaction Date: 15 / April / 2009
Transaction Amount: $44,00 USD
Your Transaction ID: 46U64120SC849601T
Buyer's Transaction ID:34A33092GU990703J
Case Number: HH-373-249-603

To complete our investigation, you must provide additional information within the next seven days.

Please log in to your Halifax account and verify your details

You will have the opportunity to enter any details or information regarding this case which will help Halifax investigate the matter fully.

Thanks for your cooperation through this process. We are continuing to work to ensure that Halifax is secure for all users.

Halifax Review Department

Copyright © 1999-2009 Halifax. All rights reserved.

The thing is I don't have a Halifax account and the link url was so crazy that I had to laugh: http://www.halifax.co.uk.gay-together.nl/update.secure.halifax.online/index.htm
(Note text in bold)

Clicking on the link led me to this:

The actual site looks like this:

First Commentator


Seema B Menon said...

Omigosh! That's crazy! Hahaha!

Joyoz said...


L. Venkata Subramaniam said...

I guess the spammers have also become very predictable. Anyway even if their hit rate is 0.00001% they probably still manage to fool quite a few people.

Utah Ski Resort said...

Very interesting. I am sure that it has fooled a lot of people. It looks official enough for people not to double check what they are doing. Watch out for this!

Rose Health said...

What these people are gaining from such activities?
Cool blog.
health tips